Holidays and a New Bento!

It’s obvious, I know, but I have to say it: I LOVE BENTO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So I know it has been a loooOOooonnggg time since my last post. I was hoping to do a number of posts for my absolutely favourite and most obsessive holiday CHRISTMAS but man it crept up in no time! It was also my first time spending Christmas in Montreal, so I was busy narrowing down the thousands of recipes I could make for Christmas day dinner (needless to say I could have still narrowed down waayy more).

So Christmas came and went with no time for a post, and Valentines day soon followed. Now I have never been a Valentines day nut. It has never been exciting to me, which is rather good because my partner and I don’t have to run frantically around trying to book a reservation at restaurants or stand in line for an hour for an overpriced bouquet of flowers. This year I printed off a small little valentines day card, stuck it in a small ziplock bag and hid it in his bento box for him to find at work. When I came home from my first day at a new job (YAYY!!) I was met with a wonderful, and unexpected(!!), little package. Inside I found some candy and chocolates, and two wonderful surprises from THE VIEWSHOP! First I found a cute little toothpick man I had been eyeing since my last visit to Toronto’s Chinatown (There it was a little smaller at was going for $1.99-why I didn’t buy it I don’t know), and my partner picked it up here for $7.99!!! I told him he shouldn’t have got it, but it is so cute. Finally in my wonderful bag of surprises was….*drum roll* ….A NEW BENTO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This wonderful little gem was only $7.99, and came in light pink or this periwinkle purple. I had my eye on this for a while. It is a wonderful 2 tiered bento, good for both hot or cold food, as well as re-heating, AND comes with a plastic fork and spoon (all pictures attached below). It is bigger then all my other bento’s which is great because, despite the beautifully elaborate and over-flowing bento ideas floating all around google, at some point you have to put the lid on it. This bento allows you to put in the amount of food you want, arranged in whatever design and still have room to put the lid on securely. So, despite the fact that I don’t care about valentines day, 2012 was the best Valentines day yet!

As I have mentioned in previous posts, The Viewshop is really one of the best places to get unique, affordable gifts for anyone young or old. They are constantly getting new things in, and their bento supplies are always expanding. If you haven’t stopped by yet, make sure you go someday soon. Check out my past posts for more info on the store.

Oh and can we talk about the Ghibli movie, The Secret World of Arrietty ? How Exciting is this!? I have been trying to find a subtitled version online for AGES, and finally one night I see the previews. Finally I can see a Ghibli film in theatres. I totally discovered Ghibli movies too late, and now I get a chance to see it on the big screen. I hope you are all rushing out in the coming weeks to see it, because it is going to be oooOoooo sooooo good!!

Leave a Reply

