J-TOWN Toronto Bento!

This past week I went to Ontario and on the way to my destination I HAD to stop at J-Town, a Japanese mall in the greater Toronto area. I heard about this area through forums, and I finally got the chance to go. I anticipated to find a mall similar to those in Toronto’s Chinatown, but J-town is a little different. (At any point in this blog you can click in the image to enlarge, and consult the gallery below for more pictures).

The mall has a beautiful entrance and to the left you will find a store dedicated to beauty products. To the right was the entrance to another wing of the building in which all the stores share one open space. Right as you enter you will find the store Silk to your left, this is the store which I found a bunch of great, CHEAP bento! Before moving further on bento, I will say that silk had a wide variety of many kitchen items, kawaii school supplies, and clothing articles. All items were very well priced. The rest of the all was a little difficult to tell where one store ends and another begins, but they have a bakery, grocery area, butcher, etc. Check out their website at: www.jtown.ca

The first thing I grabbed at Silk was the most adorable Totoro keychain (by now I knew I was in for a good day). For $4.50 you could buy Totoro   with little bells in grey, off-white, red, or light blue. All the totoro have a little green bow painted on their head. They had other charms available as well.

Moving to the next aisle I was faced with a whole shelf unit full of Bento! I was startled when I saw they were all less than 5$. Starting from the right, the round clear containers were the cheapest at $2.95; the green/yellow/white poka-dot bento $4.50 and microwave safe; then they had a whole variety of the brand Natural Lunch Time with chopstick&cutlery set at $4.20, a package of 3 miniature bento for $3.50, and the bigger bento ranging from $4.25 to $4.50. Moving still to the left they carried the brightly coloured brand Glit & Brillia where one tier bento were $4.20, and two-tiered at $4.50. The also sold a rice ball box (origini bento) that is 3 tiered but can be made into a single tier for $4.50 (pictures below). They also sold egg molds which came in packages of 2 or 3, for $3.95 to $4.20 a package. These containers varied from fish/car molds as seen below, to stars/flowers/hearts, and even to Quail eggs! In addition to the egg molds, they sold other bento accessories such as the Crab-shaped hotdog cutter which was sold for $2.95, sauce containers shaped including the fish/pig ones for $2.95;  seaweed shape cutter for $3.95; and Glit & Brillia matching chopsticks with case for $3.20.

The store even had more bento just around another corner! After looking at this whole aisle, I found another corner of the store that had plastic lacquer-looking bento in either red or black for $4.25-$4.50. These had really loose fitting lids so I did not purchase any of them, but they came in a variety of sizes.

All of the bento were made in Japan and the majority were Microwave safe. I walked out of there having spent 23$ and wishing I purchased even more.

Ultimately these were my purchases: a pink 1 tier Glit & Brillia, a 2 tier G&B, a 3 tier rice ball and side dish bento, the crab-shaped hot dog cutter, and a Totoro cellphone charm. Out of the packaging they look like this:

The lids of the 2 tier are very insecure so I have to get an elastic band for it before using. I highly recommend stopping in to J-Town and specifically the store SILK, even if you aren’t into bento, because the whole area has so many things and really great looking food! Now if you are bento obsessive like me, these are great options to help you build your collection like me, or if you have kids and don’t want to risk spending 25$ that will end up in the school  lost & found 5 years later.

Again, check out www.jtown.ca for more information location and what all they have to offer. It was 10-15 minutes off the Highway 401 for us to get to by car so it is well worth a quick visit!

12 responses to “J-TOWN Toronto Bento!

  1. Wow thanks for posting about this place. Seems like something similar to Daiso in BC. I will try to go next time i am in Toronto

  2. I was just wondering if you could help me pin-point where Kitchen Silk is on a map in Toronto, bc I can’t seem to find it. And we are planning to go soon 🙂 thanks so much

    • Hi there, okay so the J-Town is one building with a number of different stores (more like each store has a corner of the building, it is all open concept) inside. So you just need the address of the JTown building itself really. When you go inside, directly to your left is SILK (or at least it was when I went). This is the address for JTown: 3160 Steeles E Markham, ON L3R 1G9 . Go to the Jtown website (http://www.jtown.ca/English/index_e.shtml) go to maps, it brings you to google maps, zoom in to street view; they will put you right in the driveway of a building complex. You will see a lineup of cars and a Yellow entryway thing. That is Jtown. Good luck and save some for me!! Don’t forget to buy the cute hotdog cutter!!! If you have any more questions, please ask!

  3. Wow , thank you so much!! hahah I actually really wanted a hotdog cutter so I shall. Again, thanks so much we really appreciate it 🙂

  4. Over a year later 😛 but I was wondering how did the G&B boxes work out? I’m super interested in buying some bentos + accessories, and I was curious about the quality (did the lids fit, did anything break/loosen, were they a decent size for a lunch, were the cutters good, etc) and your review after using them! Any response would be wonderful!! The prices are amazing so I’m hoping the quality is good too!

    • Hi! The G&B boxes worked out great, especially for the price. I really suggest getting the triangular one because it is so cute and you can put 3 different food items in it. However, the two tier rectangular one I purchased is not very secure (you really need a band for it) so I find I never use it, but the other two I use all of the time (and they have proper closures). They are all decent size for lunch (though the two tier is too small for the things I usually make for lunch which is another reason I don’t really use it). The hotdog cutter worked great, HOWEVER, it is difficult to wash because pieces of the hotdog get stuck in the part that makes the legs…AND this part is fragile…the one time I pushed too hard and it bent this part. I want to buy a new one (and perhaps a different shape), and I am kicking myself for not buying more accessories like the egg molds. I absolutely recommend purchasing from this store, great prices-good variety-good quality. Tell me how it goes, and if there are other stores in Ontario/Quebec you would recommend!

  5. Thanks so much, that’s really helpful!!! Do they by any chance sell bands there too? I’m brand new to bento lunches and so I’m not very familiar with any stores (Although Pacific Mall in Markham, Ont.(http://www.pacificmalltoronto.com/) might have something – it’s massive – but even if it doesn’t, it’s worth a trip because It’s filled with *tons* of cute and interesting stores). However, there is a lovely site (http://www.littlejapanmama.com/) that not only has fantastic traditional Japanese recipes, but ALSO has an online bento shop! Beside the fact that it’s a small / limited shop, the prices are by far the cheapest that I’ve seen online (the prices are in the Australian dollar, so things are even cheaper for Canadians!). Unfortunately the shop is closed until October, but the site has such positive reviews and comments from happy customers, and people who have tried the recipes, so I’m hoping to give it a try once it’s open!

  6. I can’t remember if they sell bands, but something tells me they did..but not very bright coloured ones. But just to start out, for a couple bucks, it would be fine I think. I haven’t been to the Pacific Mall before (as I live in Montreal now and only visit Toronto on my way to visit family in Ontario), but from what you say, I think I have to visit it the next time!! I also haven’t heard of that website before, so thanks so much for mentioning it, the recipes look great!! I am having a hard time finding their online store, can you give me the direct link for it? I also use Ebay a lot for bento accessories (food picks,etc), but it can be expensive for bento boxes. I have also found VERY cute bento boxes and accessories at this website (though I haven’t tried shopping there yet): http://www.akazuki.com/collections/bento-supplies/products/smiley-picks-for-bento-lunch-box.
    If you ever come to Montreal I can recommend other places. Particularly the Viewshop has been great for cheap and Cute bento boxes (two tiers for 7.99$, hello kitty, hamburger ones, etc).

  7. (I have to say that the http://www.akazuki.com website is still pricey to me for their bento boxes, but I think the accessories are nicely priced. I am excited to read more on the website you mentioned though and see what their prices are like!)

  8. Oh, sorry about that, I should of mentioned where their bento shop link was (http://www.littlejapanmama.com/p/bento-shop.html). It’s located right underneath the “Meal Recipes” button in the top left of the page. I think they sell the G&B box (like the one you have, but they sell a few others) + a band + chopsticks or spoon/fork combo all for $6.80 AUD!

    • Oh wow! That’s a steal!!! I looked at the shop, really great prices on everything! just not very much selection. Great for starting out though. Thanks for passing the website along, I am going to have fun looking at the recipes (although I have never tried cooking japanese food yet because I am still intimidated by the sauces). Keep in touch if you find any other stores/websites/etc, or want more information on Montreal shops!

Leave a comment